School of Engineering Safety Committee:

Meeting schedule: Biannual (August/September/October and March/April)

Remit:

- Devise and Review School Safety Management Plan and associated documents.
- Review reports following annual audits and inspections of offices, labs, lecture theatres within School buildings.
- Scheduling of Meeting dates to provide a focus for soliciting safety concerns from staff and students.
- Interchange of safety practices/concerns between different groups within the School.
- Conduit for dissemination of externally imposed safety requirements

Membership:

The aim is to have representation from each of the disciplines within the School and a mixture of academic and technical staff, without being too large a committee.

Groupings have been made from academic heads of associated research and teaching activities, together with a technician who has experience in that particular area.

For meetings, in order to get representation from each grouping, without too many people having to be available at any one time, ideally, one (representative) person should be drawn from each group of 3 or 4 people. This could be determined by people's availability or with the Head of Research Division also nominating/delegating the task to someone, if appropriate.

Mechanical/Power systems: Sandy Cochran, Donald Balance, Brian Robb/Denis Kearns;

Micro/Nano/Electronics systems: Richard Hogg, Euan McGookin, Peter Miller/Bruce Robertson;

Biomedical Engineering: Jon Cooper, Manuel Salmeron-Sanchez, Henrik Gollee;

Aerospace: Kostas Kontis, Marco Vezza, Richard Green (wind tunnel), Neil Owen;

Infrastructure and Environment: Bill Sloan, Fiona Bradley, Anne McGarrity/Julie Russell;

JWNC: John Marsh, Stephen Thoms, Linda Pollock/David Gourlay/Mark Drasgnes;

Staff Representative: Bernie Hoey;

School Administration: Debbie Goldie;

<u>School Management/Co-ordinators:</u> David Cumming, Scott Roy, Nikolaj Gadegaard, Marc Sorrel, Debbie Goldie;

Cyril Pacot

Andrew Glidle

Specialists who may be consulted for advice, but not necessarily required to attend safety meetings:

Lasers: John Nelson/Marc Sorel/Richard Green

Biological: Andrew Glidle/Julien Reboud/Jon Cooper

Chemical: Andrew Glidle/Phil Dobson Mechanical: Brian Robb/Denis Kearns Electrical: Bruce Robertson/Peter Miller

Computing: Ken McColl

Administration/Office: Debbie Goldie/Karen Phillips